A Week in Paris – Part VI

Day 6:  Musée des Arts Décoratifs, Champs Elysées

Another day, another museum.  This one, le Musée des Arts Décoratifs, connected to the Louvre, was not really my favorite.  For one thing, because of the lack of a clear direction for how this museum was laid out, I didn’t even see the all the exhibits.  You are given your ticket and then just left to figure out where you are going.  They don’t hand you a map and there is little signage to direct you.  I somehow followed a route that took me to displays of jewelry and fashion (honestly, two displays I didn’t really care for) and upon exiting that area I had no idea there were many more – and probably better – exhibits.  I only figured this out by looking at the website AFTER having been there.   (My bad!)

This was the entrance to the fashion exhibit.  Nothing here to tell me what this is – just a door!  I went inside… (with a little trepidation, I’ll admit).

126Once inside, the “artfully” dim lighting made it very difficult to see anything and I found myself a little irritated looking at (face it) some really ugly haute couture.   Like this, for example:

(And this is a MEN’S coat!)139

No kidding!

138

And so on and so forth in this vein.  I won’t even bother to post more pictures, this is enough to give the general idea.  There went 9€ for an admission fee that I’d like to get back!

***********************************************************************

After leaving this museum, I headed through the Jardin des Tuileries, to the Place de la Concorde.  The nice weather had given way to gray this day.  The Eiffel Tower is on the left with its head in the clouds and the Arc de Triomphe is dead ahead (you can barely see it.)

144And then onto the Champs-Elysées…

What strikes me about this famous avenue is how many American outlets there are.  You have your ubiquitous McDonalds (you could undoubtedly find a McDonalds in the middle of the Sahara Desert.  There are at least a dozen of them in Paris alone.)  There is the Disney Store, the Gap, and even a Harley-Davidson dealership just to name a few.  But I only took one photo – the landmark Louis Vuitton.

145And of course it goes without saying that I ended up at L’Arc de Triomphe, another one of those monuments that doesn’t need a photo from me to tell the world what it looks like.  But there I was and I caught some kind of ceremony about to take place.

148 I’m not sure who the ranks assembled in front of the Arch are, but the guys closest to me were the Légion Etrangère, known to us as the French Foreign Legion, so I assume that’s who they were.

147

End of Day 6 at which point I practically crawled back to the hotel, exhausted.  One more day to go…the visit to the Louvre.  To be continued…

Leave a Reply

