A Week in Paris – Part IV

To continue….

Day 4:  Scenes along the Seine (and yes, the Eiffel Tower!)

Since it was such a beautiful day, I didn’t want to get back on the Metro.  It is kind of disorienting to go down in a hole in the ground in one place and then come back up out of the hole in the ground in another place.   It is fast and efficient but not good for sight-seeing since you miss everything in between.  So I walked for a while in the general direction of the river and eventually got on a bus so I could cover more ground.  I got off in front of the Musée d’Orsay and strolled along the river.

This is Pont Royal:

pont royal

And this is a truly picture perfect afternoon along the Seine:

085

079120At this point it was getting late, so I jumped back on the same bus and headed for the Champs de Mars (where I could catch my train back to the hotel).

And of course you knew this was coming, right?  I’ve held out as long as I could but it’s inevitable:

121

123Sunset at the Eiffel Tower.   What can I say?

The deep purple sky was stunning – yes it really was that color!   I had promised myself when I started this blog that I would not do the same old/same old Eiffel Tower pictures.  I’m not going to take a picture of it balancing on my hand or any of the many other corny poses I’ve seen.   And its not like it isn’t already one of the most photographed monuments on the face of the earth to which I can hardly add anything.  The only reason to take a picture of it is to say “I was here”.  So there you have it:  I was here.

Leave a Reply

